Break the silence

To begin, here’s a story:

When I was younger I had suicidal thoughts, the fact that I had depression and I had no one to talk to fueled the suicidal dark thoughts….. I’m ok now>

Now you’ll find that the percentage of teens committing suicide and having suicidal thoughts has gone up (Around 800,000 to a million people die by suicide every year, making it the 10th leading cause of death worldwide. Rates are higher in men than in women, with males three to four times more likely to kill themselves than females. There are an estimated 10 to 20 million attempted suicides every year. Attempts are more common in young females). …….. and also the percentage of people suffering from depression has also gone up, about 121 million people worldwide suffer from some form of depression (to read more on depression visit http://curiosity.discovery.com/question/how-many-people-experience-depression )

The facts are scary,  I mean are people that troubled???

The reason why I’m choosing to talk about this is because I have a couple of friends who are going through depression and one of them even tried taking her own life, I’ve gone through this so I know what they are experiencing, but they don’t know that I have struggled with depression too, so they can’t talk to me because to them “I would never understand”

The reason why I kept quiet about it was because I was afraid of being judged, and people thinking ill of me, and thinking I was stupid, I was going through a difficult time and I thought that was the only option out, I was miserable and I didn’t think anyone would understand. I remember also one time I told someone about my struggle and they said “go kill yourself already” and it was the worst thing and time of my life especially because I thought that person was my friend

So for the people who choose not to open up about your struggle (any stress related disorder, depression, suicidal thoughts, e.t.c) I understand, but it’s time to break the silence, I am doing it for you.

It’s the worst thing to suffer alone, life is too hard already. We need to people to share with, to be there for us, to help us, we need each other.

I know you probably think no one will understand, or they’ll think you’re stupid and there are other bigger problems in the world and yours doesn’t matter and yea they probably won’t understand and others will walk away from you, but do not be shy to open up about your struggle.

You can get help from a counselor (they are not expensive), support groups, family member, pastor, or someone who will understand your situation and will be ready to help you.

P:S You are not a bad person, or crazy, or weak, or flawed, because you feel suicidal. It doesn’t even mean that you really want to die – it only means that you have more pain than you can cope with right now.muchpain

And PLEASE if someone come to you in need of help, please don’t blow them off, there is a reason they picked you to share with, be nice, be kind, listen, do not judge, be understanding, be a friend!

If you do not have anyone to talk to, I am here for you…

One thought on “Break the silence

  1. Pingback: Words | Headgames

Leave a Reply

