Emotional Literacy: Keep Your Heart

“Keep thy heart with all diligence for out of it are the issues of life”
Proverbs 4:23

This concept came to me after I finished reading a book on emotional literacy …Understanding and learning how to keep our hearts

I’m sure most of us have heard or even said “I give you my heart” You say this to a loved one and they are left to carry the “burden” of taking care of your heart and being careful not to hurt or break it.

I think it’s time the cycle breaks, 

People GO TAKE YOUR HEARTS BACK!!! & I will tell you why…

When you let someone into your life and open your heart to them or even “give them your heart” you are basically offering them your prized possession and they now have control over you. 

If you give me your heart I can do something that will hurt your feelings and you will be upset or I can make you happy if I want you …

So I will basically be controlling you & No one likes being controlled…. 

Now you see why I say take back your hearts, stop giving other people power over you, over your feelings,  Take that power back!! 

I will share with you the contents of the book with each post and hopefully we’ll all learn how to keep our hearts

PS: If someone hurts you, betrays you or breaks your heart, forgive them, for they have helped you learn about trust, and the importance of being cautious when you open your heart

Leave a Reply

